Multiple DUIs in Brevard County, FL
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a primary area of focus for the Florida Highway Patrol’s monitoring and enforcement efforts statewide. Florida DUI penalties increase for second, third, and subsequent DUI convictions. The more DUI convictions a person receives, the bigger the fines and the longer the prison sentences.
Get a FREE consultation today.
Consequences of First, Second, Third, or Subsequent DUI Conviction
You will be placed on probation for a minimum of six months. A fine between $500 and $1,000 shall be assessed. If your blood alcohol concentration was .15 or greater, or if there was a youngster in the car at the time of the arrest, the penalty will be between $1,000 and $2,000. For a first conviction, you must conduct a minimum of 50 hours of community service. A first conviction carries a maximum sentence of 180 days in prison. Your license may be suspended for a period ranging from 180 days to one year.
Second & Subsequent Convictions
A second DUI conviction carries a maximum fine of $2,000 and a possible prison sentence of up to nine months. A third DUI offense within ten years and all future convictions carry a maximum fine of $5,000 and a jail sentence of up to five years. A fourth or subsequent drunk driving crime is a third-degree felony that carries a maximum sentence of five years in jail and/or a $5000 fine. If the drunk-driving crime resulted in serious physical injury, it is also a third-degree felony.
Understanding Multiple DUIs
When a person is charged with multiple DUIs coming from a single incident and wishes to make a plea bargain, it is critical to minimize the number of DUI charges a person is convicted through the bargaining process because, even if all the charges stem from the same incident, DHSMV will regard each conviction individually when imposing driving license suspension periods.
For example, a defendant with no prior DUI convictions is arrested on one count of DUI and two charges of DUI with Property Damage for allegedly damaging a car and a street sign. If the defendant is found guilty of all three charges, DHSMV will revoke their license for TEN YEARS, rather than the six to twelve months required for a first DUI.
In this case, your Florida DUI lawyer must convince the State Attorney to dismiss two of the three charges in order to avoid treating this as a third offense.
Retain the Services of Experienced Florida DUI Lawyers to Fight Multiple DUIs
Contact Mario Gunde Peters & Kelley at Legal Eagles to retain the services of an experienced Brevard County DUI attorney with a track record of success that attests to our abilities and capabilities in defending multiple DUIs throughout Florida.